Sugar Coma-No Bake Cookie Cheesecake

I make things up as I go, and I do the same thing with food often.  I don’t wake up in the morning, and think to myself, “Today, I must invent a new recipe for a no-bake cheesecake.”

Not me, there’s not that much planning involved.  Of course, it had been boiling in my mind to MAKE one–it’s hot, and nobody wants to bake.  We’re barely cooking.

I did plan ahead for the upcoming sweet tooth.  I should have prevented it from going to sugar coma levels, but…it’s really good.  (Insert an evil laugh)

Besides the normal pantry sort of things (peanut butter and milk in this case) I did have a graham cracker crust, mini-chocolate chips, peanut butter chips, some instant cheesecake flavored pudding, some knock-off brand Oreos, and an 8 oz. package of cream cheese.

I’ve had a craving for peanut butter and chocolate lately, but often, the chocolate is overbearing or else it is absent entirely from the flavor combo.  The chocolate cookies…along with tiny chocolate chips, oh yeah.

SO…I got out the cream cheese and didn’t even bother to let it warm up before sort of whipping it.  It will NOT get fluffy, just so you know, if it is not at room temperature.  I had decided that my rush was okay, it wouldn’t matter if it got fluffy.  So I wanted a bit of peanut butter flavor, but not overwhelmingly peanuttish, and in went the last of the jar of creamy peanut butter…

Now I have a faintly tan almost-smooth stuff in my bowl, and added a cup of milk.

I should have thought that bit out further.  The bowl wasn’t quite big enough to contain the splashing, so adding it slowly MIGHT be a really good idea if you don’t have a really deep bowl to beat it in.  I ended up spattered, along with half an acre of kitchen, including dishes that had just been washed.

I really resented THAT part.  Washing dishes is hard work!

Okay, now I have a sloppy but not very creamy mess in my bowl, it must be time to add the instant pudding, right?

But first…make sure your cookies are crumbled.

I massacred 8 Oreos into a fine crumb in the blender.  I also got out the peanut butter chips and the mini-chips.  You’ll need about a half cup of each to stir into half of the filling later, and since the stuff gets stiff fast, having them ready is a really good idea.

Okay, so NOW you can get your pudding mix out, dump it in and beat the mixture.  Stop and scrape the bowl after about 30 seconds, piling it all in the center.  At this point, you are trying to ensure its somewhat smooth and creamy.  Beat the mixture on high for about 1 minute.

Pour half of the filling into the bottom of the graham cracker crust.  Spread it out, and dump the crumbled cookies onto that layer and spread THOSE out.

Now, back to the half of the filling in the bowl…

Add your chocolate chips and peanut butter chips, stirring to blend them evenly.  Put the filling into a heap in the center of the pie, then spread it outward over the cookie crumbs.  Don’t worry about a perfect edge, Martha Stewart won’t be dropping  by before this is all gone, guaranteed!

Now, take another 6 Oreo cookies and pulverize them in your blender.  Sprinkle them onto the top, spreading them around.  (This is also where the not-so-perfect edge, etc. gets hidden.)  Sprinkle about 1/4 c. each of the 2 kinds of chips on top  of that…cover with the lid, and refrigerate for as long as you can stand it.

See, I know you licked the beaters & spatula…because I did.  That means you already KNOW how good this is going to taste…

100_1186

I will never be a great food stylist or photographer, but believe me, it’s good.  Really good.  Even if the photo isn’t pretty.

This isn’t a cheesecake that will keep for 4-5 days because of its uncooked nature and the nature of the instant pudding.  It’s best to use within about a day and a half, so you have an excellent excuse to have a second piece…

This is a fast recipe to make, and a great one for taking to church suppers and potluck dinners because of how easy and fast it is to make.  It’s also going to be very popular and you’ll never have leftovers on it!

100_1182

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 pkg. Jello brand instant pudding, cheesecake flavor
  • 14 Oreo (or generic version) cookies, divided and finely crumbled
  • 3/4 c. peanut butter chips
  • 3/4 c. mini-chocolate chips
  • 1 c. milk
  • 8 oz. cream cheese (you can use non-fat too, if you like)
  • 3/4 c. peanut butter
  • 1 graham cracker or cookie crust

Cream peanut butter and cream cheese together.  Slowly add milk, beating on slow.  Add instant pudding mix and beat for 30 seconds.  Scrape bowl, mounding mixture into center.  Beat on high speed for 1 minute.

Put half of mixture into center of pie crust and spread to outer edge.  Top with 8 crumbled Oreo cookies.

Stir 1/2 c. each peanut butter and miniature chocolate chips into remaining half of filling mixture.  Mound mixture onto top of cookie crumbs and spread outward towards the edges.

Top with remaining crumbled 6 Oreo cookies, along with remaining 1/4 c. each of miniature chocolate chips and peanut butter chips.

Chill for at least 1 hour before serving.  Best used within 36 hours.

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in Budget, Cakes, Desserts, Easy, Make-Ahead, Potlucks & church suppers, Quick, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

