Bacon Ritz crackers?

This time of year, I’m not enthusiastic about cooking.  We still get hungry though.  We’re just more inclined to seek cool, no-cooking-required foods.

Peanut butter, cheese, tuna, chicken, turkey, and cold cuts are all favorites.  We even cooked a turkey breast just to have it for sandwiches & salads last week.

This week, on our shopping expedition, we bought something new.

Every time we went through the cracker aisle in recent months, my husband would say “mmmm, bacon Ritz” and I would ignore him.  I thought he was making some kind of joke.

This past week, I finally asked him if he was making it up and he had to show me the bacon Ritz crackers on the shelf.  I was in a bacon mood (grocery shopping when you are hungry is NEVER a good idea, btw!)

We bought a box.

Today, the box got opened.  Late last night, my husband had suggested that I had hidden the crackers to keep him from binge eating them.  I denied it, but you know how that goes.

I was found guilty of hiding the Bacon Ritz crackers anyhow.

Today, he hunted them down.  They were exactly where I said they were, and in plain sight, but I was already sentenced to grumbling husband despite my innocence.

So, with excited fear, we tried them.

All bacon lovers know that anything labeled “artificially flavored” and bacon on the same package is usually a recipe for disaster.  “Fake-y Bac-y” is not a pleasant taste usually.   That’s why the fear level as we slowly moved a cracker towards our mouths, waiting for a sign.

I tried hard to not think about recent disasters on flavor tasting fronts, like the horribly vile “chicken and waffle” potato chips I got conned into tasting.  (That was so awful that I had to spit them out immediately, without anything more than a nominal effort to chew.)  My taste buds were cringing in fear.

I took a bite.

I started to chew.

My taste buds started to party.

These crackers are seriously GOOD!  We paired them with some cheese and peanut butter (separate crackers, I don’t like cheese and peanut butter together).  Still delicious.  Good bacon-y flavor without going overboard and tasting more fake-y than bac-y.

These crackers are actually going to the top five crackers to have in the house list.  They will also be the only flavored cracker to be on the list, which says something about how good they really do taste.  Flavored crackers, for us, are usually novelty items that we occasionally may buy, but do not buy regularly.

I love it when my taste buds get to party, don’t you?

No “fake-y bac-y” arrived, instead, it was delicious!

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in Entertaining, Ideas, Quick, Reviews, Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

