Wedding cakes and cupcakes-other blogs and websites I love

One thing about those who cook and write about it…we usually also read about it, especially when we’re researching something new, or an area we don’t consider ourselves exactly competent in.  In my case recently, it has been wedding cakes and cupcakes that have been my intense reading.

Along the way, I have discovered some websites and blogs that are helpful, good reading, or have gorgeous photography…or something else that catches my fancy.  While search engines have come a long ways since the days when I typically used six different search engines (until I discovered WebFerret, which searched all of them simultaneously) to search on a topic, sometimes…they just aren’t real intuitive at finding the great websites, no matter which one is being used.  Over time, I’ve discovered that many great websites will have links that lead to…other great websites!  The same is true of blogs.

So here’s some of my offerings for the week.

  • The Cupcakery-sure it has cupcakes, but it has more too.  It’s a blog, and she’s a wonderful writer.  She also has periodic giveaways that of course will appeal to any foodie or cook.
  • Baa Baa Cupcake-Right away, you’ll see a recipe for vegan chai cupcakes…and they sound delicious!  Once again, this one is a blog.
  • Cakespy-A blog that just turned four, it’s got a lot of ideas and offerings too.
  • Bakerella–This is a classic that’s been recognized by many foodie websites.  I believe she’s the creator of “cake pops” too, but please don’t take my word as gospel on that!
  • Serious Eats–here’s a website with a LOT to offer, even if I didn’t find a lot for the wedding cake/cupcake department.
  • Cupcake Bakeshop-a blog with a gazillion recipes!
  • Cupcakes take the Cake-a blog all about cupcakes and cupcake kind of news.  What more could we ask for?
  • Diamonds for Dessert–beautiful blog with lots of baking ideas!
  • My Cupcake Day–The blog is a bit confusing, and I’m not sure it has any recipes, but what it DOES have is some very beautiful photographs contributed by a variety of people.  That means great decorating ideas!
  • Vanilla Garlic–It’s an interesting blog, even if I haven’t gleaned anything cupcakish or wedding cakish from it!

These websites/pages are wedding specific, and may offer more than mere recipes.  Each one has a bit to offer when you are preparing to do the impossible for your own wedding!

  • Martha Stewart’s Weddings–Okay, most of us find Martha Stewart intimidating, and way too perfect.  I like her non-glamor girl look with minimal to no makeup.  I like the idea of doing things from scratch, and even if most of us don’t have our own vineyard, orchard, gardens, etc….I always liked the way she often showed it from beginning to end.  I find her directions easy to follow.  I’m also smart enough to skip the garden/orchard beginnings and head straight to the nitty gritty of doing something.  She provides me with inspiration, although I have to admit…I’ve never followed a project of hers through without modifying it to suit me.  I think that’s what its all about, actually.  Even so, I love this website and it suits the whole Martha Stewart brand quite well.  (Yes, it really is a brand, do you REALLY think that Martha herself does each one of these projects/recipes/websites/articles?  This website is a great inspiration to those intrepid (and foolhardy?) souls who are doing their own wedding planning, decorating, catering, and cakes…whether out of sheer determination, stupidity, or budgetary constraints.  It’s got a bit of everything wedding-ish, and is a great resource!
  • Do-It-Yourself-Weddings–this one is kind of obvious.  It may…or may not…offer anything of use. 
  • Epicurious has an article on doing your own wedding cake with directions.
  • Ehow has a wedding cake entry too.
  • About.com has another entry about wedding cakes.
  • Another article about doing your own wedding cake.

This isn’t everything there is to be found, but its a good start to doing your research before you ever mix a cake batter.  Don’t forget though…sample your recipes BEFORE you bake your cake.  You don’t want to discover that the recipe you have chosen tastes like crap or has the texture of the beach I’m having my wedding on!  Be creative, but don’t forget, for our wedding adventures, sometimes the KISS theory (Keep It Simple Stupid) is often the best rule of thumb!

Take a deep breath, recruit your best friends, your mother, your aunts, your cousins and other kin…and twist their arms real hard, promising them the moon and threatening them with bodily harm…in order to guarantee their assistance with the cake and other food.  Don’t be afraid to scale down your plans to fit  your budget, experience, and situation either!

About giascott

Writer, blogger, cook, grandmother, mother, wife, radio personality, outdoor enthusiast, dog enthusiast, crafter, artist, and part-time nut~~I've earned a lot of t-shirts in my day! I'm one of those crazy independent women who can cut down a tree, build you a shed, sew you a dress, cook your dinner, make some soap, pitch a tent, build a fire, catch some fish, dig in the garden, chase a kid or two, write you a poem, paint you a picture, and a dozen other things...just don't ask me to sing! I'm also embarking on a relatively new portion of my life, one of being disabled. I'm learning some lessons along the way about a lot of things too.
This entry was posted in Cakes, Desserts, Easy, Entertaining, Ideas, Outdoor, Potlucks & church suppers and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

